2004 US-Japan Workshop on Heavy Ion Fusion Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

June 10 - 12, 2004

June 10, 2004: US-Japan workshop I. Past and Present Exchanges (18:00 – 19:00)

- 18:00 18:10 Welcome and Workshop Logistics (R. Davidson)
- 18:10 18:35 Japan to US Exchanges: Overview of 2002 2004 (K.Horioka)
- 18:35 19:00 US to Japan Exchanges: Overview of 2002 2004 (J. Barnard)

June 11, 2004: US-Japan workshop II. Scientific Briefings (13:30 – 15:30)

- 13:30 13:50 Final Beam Transport Issues (S. Kawata)
- 13:50 14:10 Ion Extraction from Expanding Laser Plasma (M. Nakajima)
- 14:10 14:30 Ion Source and Injector VNL Status and Future Opportunities (J.W. Kwan)
- 14:30 14:50 Tolerance Change in HIB Pulse Duration (T. Kikuchi)
- 14:50 15:10 Beam Theory and Modeling (H. Qin)
- 15:10 15:30 Uniformity in Fast Ignition: To Which Extent Should We Alter Our Conventional Beam-Target Design (M. Murakami)

June 12, 2004: US-Japan workshop III. Scientific Briefings/future Exchanges (09:00 – 12:30)

- 09:00 09:20 Beam Stopping Issues and HEDP (Y. Oguri)
- 09:20 09:40 Ion Source Development (L.Grisham)
- 09:40 -10:00 *Coffee Break*
- 10:00 10:30 Dynamics of Plasma Channel for Chamber Transport (J. Hasegawa)
- 10:30 11:00 US Priorities for Future Exchanges (R. Davidson)
- 11:00 11:30 General Discussion of Priorities, Future Directions and Scheduling of the Next Workshop (R. Davidson, Chair)
- 11:30 12:30 *Lunch* (at *PPPL Open House*)

Open House at PPPL: Tours of PPPL Facilities and Experiments

Japanese Attendees:

Kazuhiko Horioka (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Shigeo Kawata (Utsunomiya University)

Yoshiyuki Oguri (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Masakatsu Murakami (ILE Osaka University)

Mitsuo Nakajima (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Jun Hasegawa (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Takashi Kikuchi (Utsunomiya University)

U.S. Attendees:

Ronald Davidson (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)

John Barnard (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

Alex Friedman (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

Larry Grisham (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)

Dave Grote (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

Enrique Henestroza (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Joe Kwan (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Steven Lund (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

Hong Qin (Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory)